News: Infosys’s Sudha Murthy appointed on key committee of NSTC by NCERT


Infosys’s Sudha Murthy appointed on key committee of NSTC by NCERT

The key members of the NSTC committee will focus on NCERT's curriculum restructuring for primary, secondary and senior secondary levels, in alignment with the revised National Education Policy.
Infosys’s Sudha Murthy appointed on key committee of NSTC by NCERT

Sudha Murty, the chairman of the Infosys Foundation, has been named as a member of a 19-member committee by the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT). This committee, known as the National Syllabus and Teaching Learning Material Committee (NSTC), will be focused on the development of textbooks and supplementary learning materials for the council’s initiatives.

As part of the committee, Murthy, a well-known author for her contributions, including books for children, will concentrate her efforts on shaping the NCERT curriculum designed for students in classes 3 to 12.

M C Pant, the chancellor of the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA), will lead the committee alongside Manjul Bhargava, a Canadian-American Mathematician and Professor at Princeton University. Pant said, “The NSTC will be assisted by Curricular Area Groups (CAGs) in the development of the teaching-learning material for each curricular area. These groups will include appropriate experts for the said subject and will be formed by the chairperson and the co-Chairperson of NSTC, with the assistance of NCERT”

The main objective of this committee will be to align the curriculum with the National Curriculum Framework for School Education (NCF-SE), which has been developed by K Kasturirangan for executing the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. The revised version of NCF-SE has been finalised by the Union Ministry of Education but is not available in the market yet.

Furthermore, the legendary singer Shankar Mahadevan, mathematician Sujatha Ramdorai, badminton player U Vimal Kumar, Indian Economist and Chairman of Economic Advisory Council Dr Bibek Debroy, Chairperson of the Centre for Policy Studies MD Srinivas, Indian Economist and Author Sanjeev Sanyal and the chairperson of BBSC Krishna Shastry, will all be part of this 19-member committee dedicated to the revision of NCERT's syllabus and learning materials.

Read full story

Topics: Appointments, Learning & Development, #Education

Did you find this story helpful?



How do you envision AI transforming your work?

Your opinion matters: Tell us how we're doing this quarter!

Selected Score :