News: SEBI gets two whole-time members to its board


SEBI gets two whole-time members to its board

With the appointment of two new whole-time members, Sebi has now a total of four whole-time members.
SEBI gets two whole-time members to its board

Market regulator Securities and Exchange Board of India (Sebi) has got two new whole-time directors. The government has named Kamlesh Chandra Varshney and Amarjeet Singh as full-time members of the Sebi. According to the notification, their appointment will be valid for a period of three years from the date of assumption of taking charge or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Varshney is currently serving as joint secretary at the Department of Revenue and Singh is an executive director at the Sebi.

Currently, Sebi has Ashwani Bhatia and Ananth Narayan G as two whole-time members and Ajay Seth, Manoj Govil, M. Rajeshwar Rao, and Dr. V. Ravi Anshuman are four part-time members.

The board is chaired by Madhabi Puri Buch who took charge as Chairperson on March 2, 2022. Before taking charge as the chairman. Buch served as Whole Time Member, Sebi till October 4, 2021.

She handled the market regulation department, market intermediaries regulation & supervision department, integrated surveillance department, investment management department, Department of Economic & Policy Analysis, Office of Investor Assistance & Education, National Institute of Securities Markets, and Information Technology Department. 

Read full story

Topics: Appointments, #Movements

Did you find this story helpful?



How do you envision AI transforming your work?